Society for Design and

Process Science

Transformative Research and Education through Transdisciplinary Means

Günter Stock

Günter Stock

President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Professor Dr. med. Dr. h. c. Günter Stock is President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

Born 7th February 1944, 1970 doctorate, 1978 habilitation in Heidelberg. 1980-1983 Professor of Vegetative Physiology in Heidelberg; 1983-2005 Schering AG, from 1989 to 2005 as board member, with responsibility for research and development. Since January 2006, he is President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

He is Senator of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, Senator and Scientific Member of the Joint Committee of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech), Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, Member of the Academia Europaea, Chair of the Jury of the “Deutscher Zukunftspreis” of the Federal President of Germany, Member of the Forschungsunion Wirtschaft – Wissenschaft of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), and he is member of various steering committees, supervisory boards and scientific institutions (inter alia Carl Zeiss AG, Charité). Günter Stock was member of the Senate and Executive Committee of the Max Planck Society (MPG /1993 - 2011) and Vice-President of the MPG (2001 – 2011).

He is Cluster Spokesman and Network Speaker of the network HealthCapital Berlin-Brandenburg, holder of the Bundesverdienstkreuz First Class of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany and holder of the Verdienstorden of the Federal State of Berlin. Since 2008, he is President of the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities.


Invited Speakers

Allam Rao

Director, CRRao Advanced Institute of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science, University of Hyderabad, India

Andreas Busemann

Chief Operating Officer, DB Fernverkehr AG

Dan Jones

President, Texas A&M University-Commerce

Dieter Gawlick

Architect, Oracle

Dieter Spath

Head of Institute Fraunhofer IAO and IAT University of Stuttgart

Eckehard Schnieder

German Academy of Technical Science

Edward Wilson

Pellegrino University Research Professor in Entomology, Harvard University

Erol Gelenbe

Dennis Gabor Chair, Imperial College

Günter Stock

President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Helmut Hoyer

Rector of FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany

Herbert Weber

Professor em. of TU Berlin, Director em. of Fraunhofer ISST

Horst Zuse

Berlin, Germany

Larry Lemanski

Provost and VP for Academic Affairs, Texas A&M Univ., Commerce

Manfred Scholle

Chairperson, University Board of the FernUniversität in Hagen

Martin Rangnow

Police Commander in Emden, Germany

Mike Hinchey

Director of Lero, Professor of Software Engineering at University of Limerick

Oliver Günther

President of Potsdam University and President of Gesellschaft für Informatik.

Peter A. Frensch

Vice President for Research Affairs at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Raffaello D'Andrea

Prof. of Dynamic Systems and Control, Swiss Fed. Inst. of Technology, Zurich

Ralf G. Herrtwich

Research and Advanced Engineering, Daimler AG

Richard Straub

President, Peter Drucker Society Europe

Wolfgang Reisig

Professor at Humboldt-Universität, Member of the European Academy of Sciences